

14th International Conference on Hyperbolic Problems: Theory, Numerics, Applications

Università di Padova June 25-29, 2012



Second Announcement

February 1, 2012

The Fourteenth International Conference on

"Hyperbolic Problems: Theory, Numerics and Applications"

June 25-29, 2012

Università di Padova, Italy

http://www.hyp2012.eu

The fourteenth international conference on "Hyperbolic Problems: Theory, Numerics and Applications" (Hyp2012), will be hosted at the University of Padova, Italy, on June 25-29, 2012. The objective of this conference is to bring together researchers and students with interests in theoretical and computational aspects of hyperbolic PDEs and of related time-dipendent models in the applied sciences.

We expect that HYP2012 will provide an inspiring and productive forum: to get acquainted with the most recent developments in the area of hyperbolic problems, to stimulate and exchange new ideas from different disciplines, and to formulate new challenging problems that will have impact on diverse fields of applications.

The conference will keep the traditional balance of the HYP series, blending theory, numerics and applications. Particular attention will be devoted to the following topics:

- Singular limits and dispersive equations in mathematical physics
- Nonlinear wave patterns in multi-dimensions
- Particle/molecular dynamics
- Theory and numerics of multiphases and interfaces
- Transport in complex environments
- Control problems for hyperbolic PDEs and differential games
- General relativity and geometric PDEs

The list of plenary and invited speakers includes:

PLENARY

Camillo DE LELLIS (University of Zürich)

Eduard FEIREISL (Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic)

Song JIANG (Beijing Institute of Applied Physics and Computational Mathematics)

Pierre Louis LIONS (College de France)

Nader MASMOUDI (Courant Institute)

Siddhartha MISHRA (ETH Zürich)

Igor RODNIANSKI (MIT)

Giovanni RUSSO (Università di Catania)

James A. SETHIAN (University of California, Berkeley)

Yoshio SONE (Kyoto University)

Alexis F. VASSEUR (University of Texas at Austin)

Sijue WU (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

Enrique ZUAZUA (Basque Center for Applied Mathematics)

INVITED

Karine BEAUCHARD (Ecole Polytechnique, Paris)

Gianluca CRIPPA (University of Basel)

David GERARD-VARET (Université Paris VII)

Jean-Luc GUERMOND (Texas A & M University)

Seung-Yeal HA (Seoul National University)

Michael HERTY (University of Aachen)

Joachim KRIEGER (EPFL, Lausanne)

Corrado LATTANZIO (Università dell'Aquila)

Jian-Guo LIU (Duke University)

Mikhail PEREPELITSA (University of Houston)

Xavier RAYNAUD (University of Oslo)

Moritz REINTJES (University of California, Davis)

Paolo SECCHI (Università di Brescia)

Michael SHEARER (North Carolina State University)

Steve SHKOLLER (University of California, Davis)

Giglilola STAFFILANI (MIT)

Shigeru TAKATA (Kyoto University)

Kun XU (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Shih-Hsien YU (National University of Singapore)

Further information about the conference can be obtained from the website: http://www.hyp2012.eu. We urge all the interested participants to register and to submit their abstracts for contributed talks or for poster presentations using the online form available at http://www.hyp2012.eu/logistics-registration, after performing their registration. The deadline for abstracts submission is February 29, 2012. The deadline for registration at a reduced rate is April 30, 2012. A block of hotel rooms was secured at a reduced HYP2012 rate, for reservations made before May 15, 2012. Lodging information is available at the conference website. Partial financial support will be available for young researchers. Requests for financial support must be submitted through the online registration form on the website of the conference.

Looking forward to seeing you in Padova,

Fabio Ancona (Co-Chair OC)

Università di Padova

Andrea Marson (Co-Chair Oc)

Università di Padova

Alberto Bressan (Co-Chair SC)

Penn State University

Pierangelo Marcati (Co-Chair SC)

Università dell'Aquila